Am Horizont is a brand new concert series which seeks to bring some of the most exciting music of today to Canterbury & East Kent. Via a combination of exciting, original programming and engagement with the city's rich cultural & historical heritage, we hope to connect the old & familiar with the new & strange. Our outlook embraces both the international and local, programming the music of Kent-based composers alongside eminent figures from the near past, in a bid to trace the lineage of the tremendous talent that East Kent has to offer.

In this, our debut concert, we explore the notion of dream & dreaming through a programme of contemporary pieces for strings & accordion. In Wolfgang Rihm's Am Horizont, performers inhabit a dreamlike space, calling to one another across a distance both real & imaginary - whilst Valentin Silvestrov's evocative Post scriptum inhabits a world where echoes of the past swirl & distort in a rich, bewildering soundscape.

As well as a series of short, hallucinatory works by the American composer Morton Feldman, the programme presents two pieces by Canterbury-based composers: Samuel Messer's near was conceived as a companion piece to Am Horizont and will receive its world premiere tonight, whilst Matthew Brown's Stamp acts as a rousing finale, returning us to the waking world.

Wolfgang Rihm - am horizont for violin, cello and accordion
Samuel Messer - near for string trio and accordion (world premiere)

Morton Feldman - the viola in my life (3) for viola and piano
Morton Feldman - Intermission 6 for piano
Morton Feldman - Durations 2 for cello and piano

Valentin Silvestrov - Post scriptum for violin and piano

Matthew Brown - Stamp for violin and cello

  • Karen Joliffe, violin
  • Matthew Brown, viola
  • Emily Rossitter, cello
  • Aidan Shepherd, accordion
  • Samuel Messer, piano/conductor

  • Facebook | Twitter